

NORTH SYDNEY DISTRICT CRICKET CLUB 127th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES



21st August 2020 Via Zoom at 7:30pm

Invited: Patron, Senior Club Committee, Junior Club Committee, Life Members, Vice Presidents,

Members

Apologies:
Absent:

Welcome: Neil Maxwell (CNSW), Karen Robbins (CNSW), Michael Dalton (CNSW) and Scott Rodgie (SCA)

Meeting commenced at 7:30pm.

President Rob Lavery motions that Patrick Lindsay is to Chair the meeting. Lavery notes that all votes will be completed via the voting functionality in zoom.

Welcome address - completed by Patrick Lindsay;

- Lindsay motions that the prior years AGM Minutes are carried. Lavery seconds the motion.
- Lindsay acknowledges resigning committee member Olly Knight who is stepping down from committee at this meeting.

Management Committee Annual Report – tabled by President Rob Lavery

- Lavery welcomes Neil Maxwell, Karen Robbins, Michael Dalton and Scott Rodgie.
- 2019/20 saw 1 premiership and one grand final appearance in 5th Grade and Poidevin-Gray respectively.
- Improved results throughout our grades were complemented by significantly increased numbers of volunteers and marked improvements in the clubs back-office processes and results.
- First Grade made the finals against whilst losing Adam and James Crosthwaite from the prior season.
- Congratulation to Matt Alexander leading 1st grade wicket taker, claiming 48 wickets and earning selection in the NSW Premier Cricket First Grade team of the year
- Congrats to Rob Aitken broke the First Grade games record when he took the field against UNSW.
- The club finished 10th placed finish in the men's club championship was an improvement from last season's 12th, but short of the club's goals given we were in 5th place going into the Christmas break.
- Brewer Shield upset finalists St George-Sutherland to claim the clubs women's program's historic first victory. A fine achievement and a reflection of the work coach Michelle Goszko, captain Genevieve O'Brien and all the girls have put in over the past two seasons.





- Thanked the coaching staff, Director of Cricket Gary Whittaker who joined the club in 2019/20, Director of Women's Cricket Michelle Goszko, Junior Development Manager Jason Krejza.
 Training Co-ordinator Todd Harper and Ash Perrott and Ray Beattie.
- Thanked the club partners UTS, Access Rnd, The Union Hotel, Hartford Partners, Lavender Ridge,
 NGage CMS and many more.
- Thanks Cricket NSW, ACA and local and state governments for their support. Much of this support has been to improve infrastructure, such as sightscreens and net facilities, as well as to financially support the launch of our women's cricket program.
- Thankyou to Keith Lawrence, who has resigned from the committee. Keith has worn many hats at the club over the past decade. And will be missed.
- Thankyou to committee for their hard work and service during the year.

Report Tabled. Seconded Patrick Lindsay

Statement of Income and Expenditure – Adam Wayling

- Due to COVID-19 the department of fair trading has introduced emergency powers that allow Not For Profits to roll the FY20 audit into next years FY21 audit.
- Accordingly an FY20 Audit has not been presented.
- A set of management accounts were presented, highlighted by a sound cash balance of \$42k.
- Continued efforts regarding sponsorship have helped in conjunction with sound cost controls.
- Thanks to auditors Mark and Brian Scott for their support.

Report tabled. P Lindsay seconded.

Neil Maxwell - CNSW Board Member

- Neil Maxwell addresses the members on behalf of Cricket NSW.
- Maxwell congratulated the committee and the club on its past season and continued improvements.
- Maxwell outlined Cricket NSW stance with respect to current funding discussions with Cricket Australia and how this might manifest itself into funding to Premier Cricket Clubs.

Scott Rodgie – SCA Management Committee

- Scott Rodgie addressed the members on behalf of the SCA.
- Rodgie congratulated the club on its past season.
- Rodgie outlined a number of initiatives the committee of management of the SCA are proposing to introduce to allow cricket to commence as close to on time as possible and in a COVID-safe manner.

Special Resolution – tabled by Michael Lloyd

• Proposal tabled to amend the constitution to increase the members in the club General Management Committee from 5 to 8.





Motion passed unanimously

Life membership: Tony Johnson – tabled by Patrick Lindsay

- The UTS North Sydney Committee nominates Tony Johnson as Life Member of the Club.
- Tony's involvement with the club commenced in the mid-1990s as scorer when his son started at the Bears
- Tony introduced online scoring to the club and regularly contributed articles for the NS Times and Mosman Daily.
- In more recent times Tony has been the clubs photographer primarily at 1st grade but also at other grades.
- Tony's 2 decades of volunteer service are greatly appreciated by all connected with the club.

Motion passed unanimously

Elections

- **President** Rob Lavery. Re-elected unopposed.
- Vice President Michael Lloyd. Re-elected unopposed.
- **Secretary** Patrick Lindsay. Re-elected unopposed.
- Treasurer Adam Wayling. Re-elected unopposed.
- Assistant Treasurer Simon Jagot. Re-elected unopposed.
- Assistant Secretary Sarah Berman. Olly Knight resigned and Sarah Berman has been elected unopposed.
- SCA Delegates Patrick Lindsay, Kathy Campbell. Re-elected unopposed.
- **CNSW Delegate** Patrick Lindsay. Re-elected unopposed.
- **General Committee** 8 nominations for the 8 roles. Kathy Campbell, Nicole James, Glenn Aitken, Sam Colless and new committee members; Chris Savage, Alan Gibbons, Gemma Ashdown and David James. All elected unopposed.
- Selection Committee Craig Tomko and Patrick Lindsay. Re-elected unopposed.

Meeting closed at 8:30pm